Home

By #RunChi member Marla Brizel

How does one eat an elephant? or, What I’ve learned from my first marathon training cycle

photo (2)

Eat your elephant one bite at a time. That was but one of the many pieces of advice I received about marathon training but for some reason, this one in particular really stuck. I was fresh off of a 14 miler at the time – my longest run to date – that left me wanting to die by mile 6 and had me seriously questioning how I’d ever make it through 26.2 miles. And it was only July.

I obviously did not die on that run, but it was a turning point for me. As I now make my way through my taper, I’ve begun to reflect on just how much I have learned during this training cycle. I have been lucky enough to participate in the inaugural Saucony 26 Strong project which pairs 26 first-time marathoners with 26 veteran marathoners as each team trains for a fall marathon. The lessons I have learned over the past few months are numerous. Without further ado, below are some of my main takeaways.

Eat your elephant one bite at a time
Many marathon training plans span three seasons, beginning in the spring and culminating with a fall race. But this perspective can be downright terrifying. Instead, break everything up. Digest your training plan one week at a time and focus on only the next milestone. No, you probably can’t run a marathon during your fifth week of training, but you also don’t have to be able to at that point.

Long runs can be similarly daunting. Twenty miles separate downtown Chicago from the Indiana border. In this light, your farthest run is a long distance to cover, especially on foot (a fact I refrained from sharing with my pace group this past Saturday, lest I found myself abandoned for the next three hours). However, segmenting out the mileage can drastically alter your experience. Maybe you turn the run into a series of shorter runs, or simply look forward to the next time you get to take a gel. One of my favorite race distances is 8K, so I plan to approach marathon day as five fun short races followed by a party down Michigan Avenue.

Create a support system
My Saucony 26 Strong experience has really demonstrated the value of a support network – be it a training partner, a running club, or even a virtual network of others who can understand and relate to your experiences as a first time marathoner. These are the people who will enthusiastically discuss for hours on end matters such as socks, nutrition, split times, and certain other topics that one wouldn’t dare mention in polite company. To paraphrase Fleet Feet owner Dave Zimmer, the ability to share training highs and lows serves as a reminder that though you ultimately have to run your own race, you are never actually running alone.

Acknowledge mistakes, learn from them, and then move on.
Earlier this summer, I had my heart set on a specific half marathon finish time. However, the first truly hot day of the year happened to coincide with race day. In a display of arrogance and stupidity, I decided to go for it anyway and instead of getting that PR, I nearly netted my first DNF and also earned myself a trip to the medical tent at the end of the race. At first I was devastated, but I have since processed what I did wrong, have taken steps to not repeat the experience, and have accepted that the PR day will eventually come.

Keep a journal

My trusty training diary

My trusty training diary

It’s no secret that runners love data: we obsess about temperature, splits, ounces of fluid, and pretty much anything else that can be dumped into a spreadsheet. I use a weekly planner to keep track of useful information from my run. Not only do I record details such as distance, pace, and time of day, I also record more qualitative details such as how I felt during my workout. My training diary has helped me pinpoint patterns that have allowed me to nail down my nutrition strategy and determine the best time to replace my shoes. Later in the training cycle, it’s also a great reminder of how much progress has been made.

Just get out there
Hill repeats, speed workouts, tempo runs, long slow distance: marathon training involves a variety of workouts, each with a specific purpose. And while there’s no denying that the most successful marathoners incorporate all of these elements into a training plan, there will inevitably be days where the desire to get out the door is nil. On these days, provided I don’t have a legitimate excuse to not run (i.e. injury, serious illness), I remind myself that what ultimately matters is just getting in the miles. I’ve found it’s okay to occasionally substitute an easy run for the prescribed workout.

Practice gratitude
This one is easy on a good run. But what if you’re having a less-than-ideal day? I’ve found that forcing myself to focus on what I do have going for me in the moment – whether it’s nice scenery, a reliable running partner, or simply the fact that the circumstances of my life afford me the luxury of training for a marathon in the first place – will typically yield a much-needed reality check.

What are your tips for first time marathoners? What do you wish you knew going into your training cycle? Share your thoughts with us!

For more information on the Saucony 26 Strong team, visit http://running.competitor.com/category/saucony-26-strong

One thought on “Lessons from 26 Strong

  1. Great lessons to learn, most importantly the last one. I find myself loving the run so much more when I’ve experienced either a challenging run or a series of less-than-ideal sessions due to injury. Once you come back from it and everything seems to click into place, it’s a sharp reminder of how fortunate we are to be able to leave the house whenever we want to run for fun. Keep it up MB.

Leave a comment