Home

By #RunChi member Cate Dennis

This past weekend I went back to my hometown of Beaufort, SC to visit my family. It’s always nice to be back to see my family and visit all my favorite spots. I wasn’t a runner when I lived in Beaufort, so I never really got to run there (except for middle school PE which was not my favorite.) Going back home was the perfect opportunity for me to explore my hometown on foot. I first ran in Beaufort when I visited last year while I was training for the Chicago Marathon. I had a 17 mile run scheduled that weekend and literally ran all around the town. This most recent visit I decided to focus more on the historic downtown area, which was a nice change of pace.

whereirun

Beaufort is a small, coastal town in South Carolina and the second oldest city in the state. It was founded in 1711 and is over 300 years old so it is chock full of history! In addition to that is just a gorgeous area full of beaches, boats, seafood, yearly festivals, and a great community. Many big films have filmed in the area too including The Big Chill, The Prince of Tides, Forces of Nature, Forrest Gump and the children’s show Gullah Gullah Island (which was one of my favorites as a kid).

Photo3

Palmetto Bridge

I started my run by heading through Lady’s Island and into the Historic Downtown area. I crossed over the Beaufort River via the Woods Memorial Bridge which is swing bridge to allow sailboats to pass through. While crossing the bridge you can see water and marsh for miles and get a great view of the downtown area.

bridgeview

After crossing the bridge I went right into The Old Point area.

photo 2

The streets are shaded by big, old oak trees. Practically every house you run by has a own story to tell. Right off the bridge is a memorial for Brigadier General Stephen Elliott who defended Beaufort during the American Civil War

Photo2

Daughters of Confederate House

Further down the road is the building know as “The Castle”. It was built by Joseph Johnson around 1860 and has an Italian Renaissance architecture style. There are eight fireplaces, 79 windows, and even a library!

Photo4

“The Castle”

Next by The Green is the Berners Barnwell Sams House which was built in 1852 in the Classic Revival style with plantation brick. Like many large homes during the Civil War it was used as a hospital.

photo 4

Berners Barnwell Sams House

After making a loop I passed the Beaufort Arsenal Museum which was built in 1799 and, due to deterioration, was rebuilt again in 1852. The arsenal has been used in every war since the Revolutionary War and is full of artifacts.

Photo2_4

The Arsenal

I then made my way down Bay Street, the picture perfect downtown area that is lined with unique shops and restaurants.

photo 3

Bay Street

Just past the main stretch over looking the river are some amazing houses. The William Elliott House “The Anchorage” with its Greek inspired columns was built around 1800 and later remodeled in 1900.

Photo3_1

The Anchorage

Also, the lovely Thomas Fuller House “Tabby Manse.” It was built in 1786 using tabby which is material comprised of sand, lime, water, and crushed oyster shells.

Photo2_2

Tabby Manse

Finally I made my way to the Waterfront Park. It has undergone some changes over the years, but is as lovely as ever. You can run right by the river and palmetto trees.

waterfront

Waterfront Park

So if you’re ever in the Lowcountry go for a walk or run and soak up the history and beauty of Beaufort! There is so much more to see and explore than I could fit in this post!

And if you like running and history like me you should definitely check out the History Runs offered by our very own Fleet Feet Chicago to learn some Chicago history!

One thought on “Where I Run: Beaufort, South Carolina

Leave a comment