Home

By #RunChi member Nina Liewehr

I ran 46 of the 70 miles I was schedule to run for the month. That’s not very good. These were tough weeks for me – starting marathon training, getting into the groove with my new responsibilities at work (lots of late nights), and I was still finishing up my unlimited membership at Pure Barre. As I was looking back for this recap I was feeling pretty disappointed with myself.

Many of my runs were hard, physically and/or mentally, and more of them ended with me feeling not at all confident. I’ve put off getting a painful sports massage on my calves but I am hoping to get that in at some point this week. On my run this past Saturday the very top of my left hamstring was super tight so I had to stop and stretch a lot. Foam rolling after that was not very fun!

The last month I spent time rotating between my 5 pairs of running shoes to see which ones do and don’t work. I’ve been able to knock one pair down to walking shoes, 2 are good for short (4 miles) distances, 1 is good for the 6-9 mile range, and the other pair I am planning on being my marathon shoes since they are a new pair of the same shoes I trained in and wore for last year’s marathon.

For the next 4 weeks I am scheduled to run about 87 miles and I want to complete 80% of that – so 69.6 miles total. Now that I am done with my Pure Barre membership I won’t have to double up and get really sore from class and push off running. And since I’m slightly embarrassed by my lack of running the first month I am motivated! No more excuses, time to get serious.

Leave a comment